Reviews



Excellent - Rating 5/5

Perfect in every way, including great food and company in the bar.

Reviewer:Richard K | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Friendly welcome - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely weekend, welcoming, tasty food especially breakfast.

Reviewer:Linda D | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Great Breakfast - Rating 4/5

Greeted by friendly helpful staff. Comfortable bed and clean room. Top classbreakfast, very tasty.

Reviewer:Heather M | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved the place clean rooms lovely staff there even run your bath for you if you ask nicely would definitely stay there again and the food was excellent and well priced the manageres was delightful

Reviewer:Stephen M | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Comfortable Night - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcome. Comfortable room. Good value evening meal. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:JOHN S | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


A really Welcoming and comfortable Inn - Rating 5/5

The Farmhouse Inn is a treasure and a credit to the Thaxted area.The room was very comfortable, with all facilities and was very quiet. The evening food in the bar was excellent as was the breakfast.The location is lovely with well maintained gardens and the staff very friendly.We will be staying at the Farmhouse Inn again and would recommend it to other people seeking accomodation in the lovely North West Essex area.

Reviewer:JOHN S | Mon 3rd Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Relaxing venue - Rating 5/5

We spent a very relaxing bank holiday at the Farmhouse.Great, freshly cooked breakfast and a wholesome bar meal.Highlight of the weekend was the quiz on Sunday evening hosted by a drag artist!Very welcoming hostess

Reviewer:Dan L | Wed 29th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent breakfast &accommodation

Reviewer:John B | Mon 13th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Peace and quiet - Rating 4/5

I stayed as i had an earlyish flight out of Stansted. It was quiet clean warm and comfortable. Staff were friendly. Can't comment on the pub,as i didnt use it due to the early start.

Reviewer:Tim F | Sat 11th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Review - Rating 4/5

The Farmhouse Inn seems to be a very busy pub, however I was met and greeted promptly and politely. The room does have a dated décor and the shower water pressure is very low making having a shower a bit slow, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Being a courier with a large transit, I was able to park on site with no problems. Very little noise outside the room. I was however saddened that £49 was room only and no breakfast.

Reviewer:Vincent N | Sat 6th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Pleasant stay, very good food

Reviewer:Zdenka W | Fri 29th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Good value- Rating 5/5

Stayed for 3 nights, Clean and comfortable room. Really nice food at good price.

Reviewer:Jess G | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


. - Rating 4/5

Quiet Country location.Great hospitality.Good pub food.

Reviewer:Ian L | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and friendly staff who will help with any additional needs to make your stay memorable. The food was great and reasonable prices. Would highly recommend staying here and I would definitely go back again

Reviewer:Donna r | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


A good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Pleasant, well situated, convenient and welcoming.

Reviewer:Richard H | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place in the countryside- Rating 5/5

The accommodation is a charm. Beautiful views around the house. Rooms are large and confortable. The staff very nice and helpful.There is also a cozy bar where you can eat and have a drink in very nice atmosphere.

Reviewer:Malwina H | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Good stay, nice food in the pub - Rating 4/5

Good stay, nice food in the pub

Reviewer:Roger S | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Very convenient lication - Rating 4/5

This Inn was perfect for our trip to “Cereals”Easy access from Stansted and easy access to the show ground.

Reviewer:Mary F | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Full of charm- Rating 4/5

Apart from the heating issues I loved everything else ( staff , food and the authenticity) but unfortunately the bathroom was freezing cold only small towel radiator not heating up at all . I understand it's a really cold winter yet but it's unacceptable for the room and bathroom to be this freezing cold ( I stayed in room number 1)

Reviewer:Iwona S | Fri 2nd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Amazing Food - Rating 5/5

I stayed at The Farmhouse Inn whilst working in the area. I was looking for a low cost good value room and was very impressed with what I found. The room facilities are basic but at the price I still think this is good value for money. The Wifi had good availability in the daytime but did get congested when lots of people started using it.The highlight though was the food served in the pub which was exceptional, as was the breakfast in the morning.Shall be staying again if I am in this area again. Many thanks

Reviewer:Rob S | Fri 23rd Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Relaxing pub in easy travelling distance of Stansted - Rating 4/5

Nice food, good beer, relaxing pub, great service, only 15 minutes from Stansted airport

Reviewer:Stephen A | Mon 13th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Ideal - Rating 5/5

Location and amenities 'ideal' for my work appointment.Cosy bar with a great menu - nice hot shower!!Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Stewart S | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Clean, well equipped rooms - kettle and tea tray with cookies.Warm towels on heated rail.Staff very helpful and friendly.Very pleasant restaurant.Best full english breakfast we have had for ages.Will definitely stay here again. Thank you.

Reviewer:Lynda P | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Great hospitality at the Farmhouse Inn - Rating 4/5

Had a very pleasant stay ownervery friendly room very clean and comfortable would recommend and would stay again.

Reviewer:Bobbie N | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Thanks! - Rating 4/5

Very friendly staff. Food is excellent!Thanks for a pleasant stay 😁

Reviewer:Mikkel G | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


A DELIGHTFUL HOTEL IN A RURAL SETTING - Rating 5/5

We have had two wonderful stays at this hotel. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful. The food is good, especially the cooked breakfast. The rooms we stayed in were comfortable and clean.

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Tue 11th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Farmhouse stay - Rating 3/5

Enjoyable stay, though my wife found the bed aIntel uncomfortable.

Reviewer:Chris W | Wed 14th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 4/5

We booked in to this Inn after an awful night at a nearby Travelodge.We were really happy with the room and the Inn was lovely.Very quiet place and very attentive staff.We would definitely book again if in the area.

Reviewer:Jim U | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


nice and quiet - Rating 4/5

Good value for money.Near the airport

Reviewer:Astrid M | Fri 7th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay.The staff were very friendly,rooms were clean and tidy and food in the bar &resturant was very good. Will definitely stay again when working in area

Reviewer:Ian B | Fri 24th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed fort two nights to attend a party. The beds were very comfortable.Very quiet at night and even though the pub was open we were not disturbed at all. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and had a really good meal the breakfast was also very good. The landlady was helpful and the members of staff that we met were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again if we arein the area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue W | Tue 21st Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


A+++++++++++ - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic place to stay. Felt at home from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Thanks Sylvia and we will definitely be returning xxx

Reviewer:Chris S | Sat 7th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Ms and Mr Boyles- Rating 4/5

Lovely place to relax and unwind

Reviewer:Robin B | Tue 13th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Home away from home. - Rating 5/5

This hotel had a very personal touch witch i found to be exellent. The beds were perfect. The staff were kind and offered us what we needed to make our stay perfect. 5 star.

Reviewer:SARDEEP S | Fri 9th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable autumn break - Rating 4/5

In spite of dreadful weather we really enjoyed our visit to Thaxted. Eveyone we came in contact with at the hotel was helpful - nothing seemed to be too much trouble.Our room (7) was very comfortable although perhaps the shower could be modernised. The meals were very good. We will certainly stay in the Farmhouse Inn next time we are in the area and will certainly recommend it to friends,

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne B | Tue 22nd Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great accommodations - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful surprise. The room was wonderful with a really nice bed. The next morning was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had.

Reviewer:CLARENCE W | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great accommodations - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful surprise. The room was wonderful with a really nice bed. The next morning was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had.

Reviewer:CLARENCE W | Thu 6th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Booked just a stop over on Saturday night, arrived late but that was not a problem. Very friendly and nice place to stay.

Reviewer:Christine F | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Fab Farmhouse - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night but certainly will be back. good comfortable room. Very clean and tidy. Great welcome from the lady of the house. highly recommended.

Reviewer:James M | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Value Hotel in Thaxted Essex- Rating 4/5

A most warm welcome here with excellent food , adequate facilities in a pleasant room with very clean white bed linen . Good value would be 4* if the decor &bathrooms wereupdated in the rooms &bar .Restaurant very nice .Full English Breakfast choices could be improved ie baked beans instead of hash brown.

Reviewer:Mrs. FrancesBates| Fri 30th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Warm Welcome. - Rating 5/5

We stayed here whilst on business for two nights and we were so happy that we did. Arriving late Friday evening we were greeted most warmly and shown to our twin room. It was simply furnished and adequate to our needs. Most importantly it was spotlessly clean throughout and the beds new and comfortable. We ate out in Saffron Waldon on our way there but decide to try the food at the Inn the next evening. We are so glad we did as the food was delicious and the prices most competitive. We hope to work again close by so shall definitely return to this lovely Inn.

Reviewer:Heath P | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Family weekend - Rating 4/5

Really friendly, very accommodating staff who looked after our group of relatives brilliantly.The rooms were clean and comfortable even though a bit 'dated'. For the older members of the group it would be beneficial to have grab rails in the bathroom facilities.The breakfast was really good and we were readily supplied with ample tea, coffee and toast. All orders were fulfilled as requested.Ideal accommodation for group/family occasions.

Reviewer:Helen D | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay at The Farmhouse Inn. The room was comfortable and clean, staff were very attentive and helpful and the food was lovely, at dinner and breakfast.

Reviewer:Kelly A | Thu 15th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Good and simple British B&B - Rating 4/5

Friendly and helpful staff in a clean and typical English rural Pub...My Room and ensuite bathroom was clean but basic, and had all you needed. Also, its quiet and there was no noise from the road or pub.Perfect little place to stay for a night or two.

Reviewer:Robin Van B | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

A quiet little place in the countryside. Excellent hideaway. Will go again.

Reviewer:Peter P | Thu 8th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Farmhouse inn - Rating 4/5

Once we found the inn cosy building pleasant staff decent food would use and recommend to other people

Reviewer:Alan C | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Comfortable Inn - Rating 4/5

We spent one night as were attending a wedding in Great Bardfield. Was a pleasant, comfortable room and landlady was very helpful in trying to find us a taxi. We also had a lovely full English breakfast in the morning.

Reviewer:Joanna L | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


stay at the farmhouse inn - Rating 4/5

had a very pleasant stay, staff were friendly and welcoming. the meals were very good.

Reviewer:Christine H | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice inn with good beds - Rating 4/5

This is a lovely inn with comfortable beds but the shower is in dire need of renewing as it does not stay in place and power is not great. But we would stay again.

Reviewer:Ann F | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


The perfect place to stay! - Rating 5/5

The Farmhouse Inn was a perfect place to stay for a nearby wedding. The room was clean, very comfortable and well-equipped. It was also really peaceful, so I enjoyed a good night's sleep. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. CarrieM | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Social Visit - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant and well looked after establishment.

Reviewer:Derek G | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

It has been great to stay at your B&B, wonderful host, great service, felt quit at home, meeting wonderfully nice people. Your breakfast service is unique and we can't wait to stay here again in the future. Thank you so much!

Reviewer:Esther W | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


very nice stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice stay, very welcome and will be back.RegardsRob

Reviewer:Rob A | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Authentic experience - Rating 4/5

This is a fine example of a traditional English inn.Situated far from the noise of modern days, close to old towns like Saffron Walden.Interior is old but spotless.The bar and restaurant takes you back to another time when things didn't have to happen so fast.The locals come in large numbers for dinner and a pint in the evening and they are friendly and easy to have a chat with.Food and drink is more than OK.

Reviewer:Per A | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Second stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely and quiet. Friendly, welcoming host. Rooms clean and comfortable. Had a lovely evening meal on our first stay. Will be happy to book again when we arrange our next visit to our family in Thaxted.

Reviewer:Norma N | Sun 24th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Thank You!! - Rating 4/5

Sylvie was an excellent host, good grub and a great pint at the bar - just what was needed. Thank you!!

Reviewer:Robert M | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Clean, comfortable and quiet- Rating 4/5

We liked the country location. First time in Essex and would like to return.If you want an early start at a weekend the breakfast is a little late

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen S | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay- Rating 5/5

Very friendly atmosphere good accommodation and a lovely breakfast. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit this part of the country

Reviewer:Michael C | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Great Food and Real Ale in a Quiet Location - Rating 5/5

Stayed 1 night. Will stay again.

Reviewer:Richard D | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Thanks - Rating 5/5

We came late and reception was opened for us. Room was clean and cosy. Coffee and tea. Very quite area

Reviewer:Ishay V | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


fantastic - Rating 5/5

fantastic value food was great staff where very friendly

Reviewer:Scott L | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Top notch hospitality - Rating 4/5

Stayed here a couple of nights on business. the owner was very helpful and tried to sort out any problems quickly and efficiently. Steaks in the restaurant were delicious, cooked exactly as ordered and excellent quality meat.the Farmhouse Inn isn't the most modern of establishments but all the facilities work well, it's clean, comfortable and the owners very welcoming.

Reviewer:Deborah K | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


pleasant stay at the Farmhouse Inn - Rating 4/5

The Farmhouse Inn was located in a very rural location which set the scene for a very relaxaxed stay.The room was in a specially built block at the rear and was plain but comfortable. The bar food was very good and the bar itself was very nice with a friendly atmosphere and well used by the locals.Staff were friendly and helpfull.

Reviewer:Henry F | Sat 11th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely location, with good food, clean accommodation and friendly staff. Will look forward to returning soon.

Reviewer:Shaun W | Tue 31st May 2016 | 3 years ago


a warm welcome - Rating 4/5

My son and I had a very comfortable overnight stay at the Farmhouse Inn.We were given a very warm welcome and the staff were lovely throughout.Really enjoyed dinner in the bar and the treat of a good quality cooked breakfast the next morning.The rooms are fine, albeit slightly tired, but the overall experience was very good, excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Reviewer:Patrick P | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Farmhouse inn is excellent, staff are very friendly, Food is delicious and room very comfortable.

Reviewer:Ken E | Thu 3rd Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Very friendly and comfortable! - Rating 5/5

The Inn is very comfortable and the staff are extremely friendly and helpfulWe had dinner there each evening and the food was excellent and reasonably pricedWould love to stay there again and recommend it highly

Reviewer:David Y | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Have stayed a few times now and found every time superb. Quiet at night, friendly owners, food and drink if required is excellent, rooms are very comfy and kept to high standard. Great place . Hope to stay again.

Reviewer:Karl M | Thu 5th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely peaceful getaway. - Rating 5/5

We needed a night of peace away from our noisy neighbours, Halloween parties so we came upon this little gem. Peace was what we got plus lovely food, the best fish &chips ive ever had. The full english breakfast was plentiful &lovely &hot. The staff &owner were particularly friendly &relaxed.

Reviewer:Linda M | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities

  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Breakfast In Room
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat